ISMA AwardsISMA Award Recipients

ISMA grants two prestigious awards on a regular basis to members of the global security community: the ISMA Distinguished Achievement Award (DAA) and the ISMA Founders’ Award. Details on the awards and past recipients appear below. ISMA is proud to share these honors.

ISMA Distinguished Achievement Award

The ISMA Distinguished Achievement Award (DAA) is a meaningful, industry-related award that recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions to the security profession in the public or private sector as a practitioner, provider, or technologist. Past recipients of the ISMA Distinguished Achievement Award include the following eminent security professionals and dignitaries:

  • 2022        Carlos Velazquez, Mexico Country Security Manager for Shell
  • 2021        Lord Parker of Minsmere, former Director General of the UK Security Service
  • 2020        William Evanina, Director, U.S. National Counterintelligence and Security Center
  • 2018        Dr. Larry Barton, expert in workplace violence issues
  • 2016        Rachel Briggs, Executive Director, Hostage U.S.
  • 2015        Adrian Leppard, Commissioner of Police, City of London
  • 2013        Sir Jonathan Evans, Former Director-General, British Security Service
  • 2012        John Pistole, Administrator, Transportation Security Administration
  • 2008        Raymond W. Kelly, Police Commissioner, New York City        
  • 2007        Eliza Manningham-Buller, Former Director-General, British Security Service
  • 2005        Tom Ridge, Former Secretary of Homeland Security
  • 2004        Bruce George, Member of Parliament
  • 2004        George Tenet, Former Director of CIA
  • 2003        Dennis Massey (deceased), Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • 2002        Rick Rescorla (deceased), Morgan Stanley Dean Witter
  • 2000        William Webster, Former Director of CIA and FBI
  • 1999        Gerald Lynch, President, John Jay College of Criminal Justice
  • 1998        William Cunningham, President, Hallcrest Systems Inc.
  • 1997        Sir David Veness, Assistant Commissioner, New Scotland Yard
  • 1996        William Bratton, Former New York City & Boston Police Commissioner
  • 1995        George P. Shultz, Former U.S. Secretary of State
  • 1993        Richard Lally, Director, Air Transport Association
  • 1992        Robert D. McCrei, Editor of the widely read “Security Letter”
  • 1991        Timothy J. Walsh, an internationally known authority, author, and educator
  • 1990        Michael Shanahan, Former Chief of Police, University of Washington Police Department

ISMA Founders’ Award

The ISMA Board of Directors awards the ISMA Founders’ Award to a members of the association, recognizing members who have made a singular or a continually significant contribution to ISMA. Past recipients include:

  • 2019        Kirsten Meskill, BASF 
  • 2018        Adam Honor, Rose Partners
  • 2016        Marco Mille, Siemens AG
  • 2015        Chris Rackow, Google